Samstag, 30. Juni 2007

ICTP Digital Divide Simulator

The picture above is a map of the so called Digital Access Index (DAI). The DAI measures the overall ability of individuals in a country to access and use Information and Communication Technologies. Introduced first by the International Telecommunication Union, it embrace eight variables organized into five categories. Each variable is converted to an indicator with a value between zero and one by dividing it by the maximum value or "goalpost". Each indicator is then weighted within its category and the resulting category index values are averaged to obtain the overall DAI value. The picture represents thus the Digital Divide (Brecha Digital in Spanish, Fracture numerique in French, Digitale Kluft in German, Divario Digitale in Italian) - that refers to the difference among nations in the ability of accessing global information infrastructures, difference between those who have access to computers and the Internet and those who do not.
The categories included in DAI are: Infrastructure (number of fixed and mobile subscribers), Affordability (internet access price as percentage of the Gross National Income per capita), Knowledge (adult literacy and school enrolment level), Quality (international bandwidth per capita and broadband subscribers) and Usage (internet users).
entdeckt über und von Antonio Lopez

Keine Kommentare:

View blog authority